Nepal bans TikTok over allegations it disrupts ‘social harmony’


Which other countries have banned TikTok?

TikTok has been banned in several countries, with many citing security concerns about the Chinese app.

The UK and US governments have banned the app on government phones, as has the European Parliament, European Commission and EU Council.

TikTok has repeatedly denied it has ever shared data with the Chinese government and said it would not do so if asked.

Other countries to ban it from government devices include Australia, Canada, Denmark, France, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway and Taiwan.

Nepal’s neighbour India banned TikTok over fears it could compromise national security and integrity.

Afghanistan’s Taliban leadership banned it in 2022 on the grounds of protecting young people from “being misled”.

Pakistan has banned it over what the government terms its “immoral and indecent” content, while Somalia banned it over concerns about terror-related content.

Articles You May Like

Ford poaches ex-Tesla, Rivian, and Apple talent to develop affordable EVs
Elon Musk threatens to ban Apple devices from his companies over OpenAI partnership
Israel and Hamas on UN’s violence against children list
Hyundai and Kia are closing the gap with Tesla as US EV market share hits double-digits
Tesla claims it has 2 Optimus humanoid robots working autonomously in factory